Tuesday, May 4, 2010

Classification of Nutrients in Foods

Classification of Nutritional Foods

Since foods vary widely in their contents of various Nutrients, they have been broadly grouped under three heads from the nutritional point of view namely,

1) Body building foods
2) Energy-yielding foods and
3) Protective foods.  

These are briefly discussed below:

Energy yielding foods:
Rich in carbohydrates and Fat Foods are called Energy Yielding foods.  Cereals, tubers and roots, dried fruits, sugars and fats are included in this group.  Cereals contain, in addition, fair amounts of proteins, minerals and certain vitamins and form the important sources of the above nutrients in poor dietaries.

Body Building Foods:
Body Building Foods are those foods which are rich in proteins, Pulses, Milk, Meat, Oilseeds, Fish, Eggs and Nuts and lower Fat Oilseed Fours are included in the group of body building foods.

Protective Foods:
Protective Foods are those foods which are rich in Vitamins, Proteins, and Minerals.
Protective Foods are broadly divided/classified into 2 Groups: (a) Foods rich in Vitamins, Proteins, and Minerals with high biological value, for example, milk, eggs, and liver, and (b) Foods rich in certain specific vitamins and minerals only, for example, green leafy vegetables and fruits.

No comments:

Post a Comment